The immensely popular social media platform, Facebook, has always raised some questions in the minds of its users regarding the notification system. One of these questions is related to receiving notifications when other people take screenshots of your chats, pictures or stories.
Despite platforms like Snapchat that have implemented notification policies for these scenarios, Facebook has no such thing. It is absolutely paramount that you try to preserve your privacy by not sharing stuff that you might want to delete later on.
Will You Be Notified of Screenshots on Facebook?
Well, the short and disappointing answer is “NO”. Facebook has not implemented a mechanism to notify screenshots. Such an option might be added to the platform in the upcoming years. For the time being, however, you will have to do without this feature until the developers potentially think of it for the future updates. In the following, we will clarify whether you can know if someone took a screenshot of different sections of your Facebook account.
Taking Screenshots of Stories
If someone takes a screenshot of your stories, you will not be notified. Facebook cannot detect screenshots from stories at the moment. So, feel free to take screenshots of anyone’s stories that you wish to keep for yourself.
Taking Screenshots of Profile Pictures
If you are very eager to take a screenshot of other people’s profile pictures, and it makes you feel awkward that they might know, we are pleased to say that they never will. Facebook does not notify others if you take a screenshot of their profile pictures.
Taking Screenshots of Facebook Messenger Conversations
Now, this is where Facebook’s future updates are supposed change things a bit. It appears that Facebook intends to incorporate the option of being notified if someone has taken screenshots of your conversations within the Facebook Messenger. But for now, users will not be notified if screenshots of their conversation chats have been taken.