Do you wonder what happens when you unsend a message on messenger apps like IG and FB? Here’s what your deleted messages look like on the receiver’s phone! 

For those unfamiliar, ‘UNSEND’ is a feature that allows you to retract your texts. When you use the option, the receiving end of the conversation doesn’t see the message anymore. You can currently use the feature on Instagram, Facebook Messenger, and Telegram. 

Unfortunately, popular apps like TikTok, Snapchat, Kik, and Tinder don’t have the feature yet. But there’re still some workarounds to remove your unwanted messages before the other party can read them.  

This Is What Happens When You Unsend a Message

Apps may have various policies on how to show unsent messages to the receiver. For example, IG leaves no trace behind when you tap the unsend button. But other Facebook (currently Meta) apps notify the reader that something was deleted. That’s why users want to know what happens when they unsend a message on different platforms. 

Here’s how the most popular apps’ unsend features work. 

Facebook/Messenger

Wo speichert Facebook Messenger Nachrichten auf meinem PC und Android? In  welchem ​​Ordner sind sie? - Computermanie

When you use Remove or Unsend options on Messenger, what happens is that the text, photo, video, gif, or emoji you sent becomes inaccessible to both you and the receiver. But note that the other party will see a replaced text that says, “[Username] unsent a message.” 

But what if you accidentally select the ‘Remover for You’ option? In that case, the text or multimedia message will be deleted from your account only. And the receiver will still be able to see it. Unfortunately, there’s no workaround to unsend a message for both sides after removing it from your own device. 

Instagram

 

When you unsend a message on Instagram, it immediately disappears from all devices included in the conversation. Unlike Facebook, the receiver(s) will not get notified that something was deleted. The receiver devices’ notification text may change to ‘This message was deleted.’ But they’ll find no trace of what you sent them. 

Fun fact: A couple of years ago, you could still read your deleted Instagram text messages using your notifications. But IG found out about the loophole and fixed it. 

iMessage 

When you delete a message on iMessage, it only removes it from your device. The receiving end would still be able to see the text regardless. 

The only option you have is to cancel your message before it’s delivered. To do so, you need to turn on your phone’s Airplane Mode (accessible via Control Center). If you do it fast enough, your message will not be sent, so you can delete it and then proceed to turn the Airplane Mode off. 

Note: If you see a grayish text that says ‘Delivered’ under your message, it’s too late. You have no way to retract it. 

Facebook used to have a 10-minute limit on unsending messages. So, you couldn’t use the remove option when the time was up. But the new updates have changed it, and now there’s no limit on which messages you can delete. 

Snapchat 

Snap doesn’t have an ‘Unsend’ option. So, you cannot remove your messages for others. However, you can delete your Snaps in an ongoing conversation. (You tap and hold the message and select delete). But the receiver will be notified that you removed something from the conversation. 

Plus, they might still be able to see what you sent as the delete function may not work when the internet connection is poor, or the receiver is using an older version of the app. 

TikTok 

When you delete a message on the TikTok app, it only removes it on your side. So, the other party can still read and interact with it. TT has not announced any ‘Unsend’ features yet. And most workarounds are useless because the messages remain on the receiver device no matter what you do. 

Users have tried to permanently delete their accounts, so their messages disappear. But that won’t work either. The other party will still see your conversations even when your account is gone. 

Tinder 

The only way to unsend a message on Tinder is to Unmatch the person. It will delete the entire conversation on both devices. But be aware that Unmatching is permanent, and you’ll not be able to start a new conversation with that particular user ever again.

Reporting Can Restore Your Deleted Messages 

What happens when you report a message that was deleted? Each app has different policies to handle the situation. But most of them can restore the deleted conversations to validate the reports. Here’s what you need to know.

Instagram stores unsent messages for up to 14 days. So, if you report them within the said time frame, the support team might be able to bring back the removed texts, images, stickers, and emojis. 

Facebook Messenger has two different policies to what happens when you unsend a message. If the conversation is end-to-end encrypted, you only have 6 hours to report them. Otherwise, the unsent/removed messages will not be restorable. But the reporting time limit is 14 days for regular conversations. Any removed text that is reported within the said time frame can be brought back. 

How to Unsend Messages on Different Messenger Apps 

Here’s what to do if you want to make your sent messages disappear on different apps. 

IG Unsend Feature 

If you’re using the app, open the Direct Messages section. Find the message you want to remove and tap-hold on it. Tap ‘Unsend message’ to make it disappear for both ends.

On a browser, you need to click on the three dots next to each message and then select ‘Unsend. You’ll see a pop-up that says, “Unsending will remove the message for everyone. People may have seen it already.” Confirm it, so your text is deleted from the conversation. 

Messenger Remove Option 

iOS and Android App: find the message you want to unsend and tap-hold on it. If you want it to be removed for everyone, select ‘Unsend.’ If you want it to be deleted for you, choose ‘Remove for you’ instead. 

Desktop App: right-click on the message you want to delete and click ‘Remove for Everyone.’ (If you cannot see the option, try minimizing the app). 

Browser: Hover the mouse over the message you want to remove. Click the three vertical dots next to it and select remove. You’ll see a window with two options. If you want the text to disappear for everyone, opt to choose the first option that says, “Unsend for Everyone.” 

[How-to]: Read an Unsent Message on Instagram and Facebook 

The only way to see unsent messages on IG and FB is by using third-party apps. It’s not recommended to do so because such apps usually require access to your accounts. But here’re your options:

– Notisave

– Unseen Messenger (Android) 

Google Play Store has approved these two apps. So, they’re safe. You just need to grant them access to your notifications. They’ll store the deleted message after that. And using them, you’ll be able to read the unsent messages from Messenger or Instagram. 

Quick Recap Before You Leave 

  • Instagram, Messenger, and Telegram are some of the apps with unsend options.
  • The receiver doesn’t get any notifications when your unsend a message on IG.
  • Messenger, WhatsApp, and Snapchat notify the receiver when you delete something from the conversation.
  • The receiving end can restore your deleted messages by reporting the conversation in the next 14 days. 
  • The only way to read unsent messages is by using third-party apps such as Notisave and Unseen Messenger.

Author