For lots of motives, a plethora of people holds multiple Gmail accounts. However, anyone may soon discover that they have made too many separate Gmail accounts for their own good. Just in case you would want to get rid of an old Gmail account or you would like to remove junk ones. You can erase Gmail accounts from any platform, so it’s good to know how to do it whether you use an Android, iPhone, or desktop PC. You find any questions or concerns about canceling a Gmail account here.

What things can inspire you to remove a Gmail?

There are lots of inspirations:

  • You no longer need your Gmail address. 
  • You’d rather switch to another email service. 
  • You think that Gmail, as it is now, is too old!
  • That terrible username you chose needs to be gone.

What happens after deleting a Gmail account?

You won’t lose access to your Google account if you just delete your Gmail. This makes sure you can use YouTube, Docs, and the rest of Google’s services without any problems. You can also use your Google Drive and Play accounts to browse your pics and other content.

Still, Before you blot out your Gmail account, you should ensure you’ve downloaded and kept any sensitive data you cannot afford to drop. Doing so will wipe out all of your messages and stop you from getting or sending emails in a very lasting way. You could get your Gmail account back if you picked and chose that you don’t want anyone else to use it in the future.

Note: Please make sure you have a backup email account set up so you can move your messages there before you close your current one. If you have linked any social media accounts to your Gmail, you won’t be able to sign in or change your password for those accts.

How to delete a Gmail account on Windows and macOS?

It’s just as simple to cancel your Gmail account as it was to create it. Before beginning, make sure you have signed out of any other Google or Gmail accounts you may have opened in your fav browser. Stopping the accidental deletion of an account makes this step essential. 

  1. Launch the Gmail app on your Mac or PC and sign in to the account you wish to withdraw. 
  2. To edit your Google Account settings, click the gear symbol in the upper right corner of Gmail after logging in and then “Manage Your Google Account.”
  3. On the Google account settings page, you’ll find a greeting that reads “Welcome, Your Name.” The option to manage your personal information and how Google uses it is seen under “Google Account Settings” on the left side of the page.
  4. Prior to canceling your Gmail account, you have the option of downloading all of your data to avoid losing any irreplaceable messages or attachments. If you don’t care about keeping your information, you may simply pick the option to delete your account or the service.
  5. After that, Google will give you another set of options to choose from. Tap Delete a Google service if you’re ready to get rid of your Gmail account.
  6. Go to the next move and click the trash can icon to get rid of your Gmail account. There’s a case Google will ask you to send in a second verification text to confirm who you are, and before moving on, you’ll need to give an email address that is not tied with Google. 
  7. If you don’t want to use your Gmail address for anything else, you can use this one to access Play Store, Sheets, and so on. After joining the non-Google email address, click the Verify button.
  8. Open your backup email, find the Gmail validation note, and hit the link to turn off your account forever. Until you confirm the removal of your Gmail account, no data will be removed. 
  9. Yet, click Remove Gmail but remember that giving up your address does not release your Google/Gmail identity.

Removing Gmail through your iPhone

  • Press the Settings icon on your Main Screen, then scroll to the bottom until you find the Passwords and Accounts section.
  • After tapping Gmail, select the Delete Account option from the drop-down menu.
  • Tap the Delete from My iPhone button to verify your pick.

Deleting your Gmail account from your Android smartphone

Because most apps are linked to the Playstore, users of Android-powered smartphones need to have an active Google account to use the vast majority of available apps. If you delete your Gmail account, you will no longer have access to the Google Google Playstore or any of your other apps that are tied with it. Before moving on to the next step on an Android smartphone, you must ensure that you have the utmost certainty that you have to delete your Gmail account.

  • As you open the settings menu on your phone, tap the option that’s titled “Accounts” or “Users and Accounts,” based on the device you’re on.
  • Hit the account you wish to erase, and then touch Remove Account to finalize your decision.


Bottom-Line

If you do not track these steps, your Gmail account will not be shut. After your account has been removed, you won’t be able to get access to that email at a later time, and nobody else will be allowed to use that username, either. However, the clock is ticking, and every second counts in this situation. There is a 20-day grace period after removing your Gmail account, during which you can restore it if you alter your mind. The more you wait, the slimmer the chances of this recovery becoming a reality. After removing a Gmail, the last thing you need to do is make sure that any records that could hold that email address have been revised. A Gmail account that is no longer in use should be appropriately deleted to prevent hackers from getting access to it. Google needs 30 days to get rid of your Gmail account completely.

Author

Write A Comment